Guide n° 11 Bourgogne Nivernais

Description

The Yonne, the canal du Nivernais and the canal de Bourgogne.

  • 21 x 29,7 cm - 112 pages
  • ISBN 2-913120-51-2
  • Last updated 2017

In this guide we follow the river Yonne for the whole of its navigable section. The Yonne is a big river and, indeed, at Montereau its flow is greater than that of the Seine. But outside flood times it is calm, deep and easily navigable. The main riverside towns such as Sens, Villeneuve, Joigny and Auxerre offer interesting moorings.

The Yonne is linked to the Loire by the Nivernais canal. Despite its small gauge, this attractive waterway functions well and offers an interesting alternative to the «Bourbonnaise route» for boats on their way to the Mediterranean.

The Burgundy Canal, cradle of inland leisure boating in France, has suffered in the last few years from lack of maintenance and the available depth is limited in the central sections. It can no longer be called a transit canal, but it continues to offer some extraordinary cruising opportunities in a typically Burgundian countryside.

> More information

Guide n° 11 Bourgogne Nivernais

22,00 €

France uniquement : TVA 5,5 %, hors frais d'expédition

Description

L'Yonne, le canal du Nivernais et le canal de Bourgogne.

  • Format 21 x 29,7 cm - 112 pages
  • ISBN 2-913120-69--5
  • Dernière mise à jour 2021

Dans ce guide, nous suivons la rivière Yonne sur toute sa partie navigable. C'est une rivière importante; à Montereau son débit est plus grand que celui de la Seine, mais en dehors des courtes périodes de hautes eaux, elle est calme, profonde et facilement navigable. Des villes riveraines telles que Sens, Villeneuve, Joigny et Auxerre offrent des étapes fluviales de grand intérêt.

L'Yonne est reliée à la Loire par le canal du Nivernais. Malgré son gabarit réduit, cette voie est en bon état et offre une alternative intéressante à la route bourbonnaise aux bateaux en route pour la Méditerranée.

Le canal de Bourgogne, véritable berceau du tourisme fluvial, a souffert ces dernières années d’un manque d'entretien et le tirant d'eau disponible est limité dans sa partie centrale. S'il n'est plus vraiment un canal de transit, il continue à offrir des itinéraires de toute beauté dans un paysage vallonné et typiquement bourguignon.

> Un peu d'histoire